Research projects 2

The general objective of this study is to improve our understanding on short term regulation of tree growth and its allocation in subtropical conifer (Chinese red pine, Pinus massoniana) under the context of climate change. This study will be conducted at the Dinghushan Mountain Forest Reserve, which is located in south China and belongs to the South China Botanical Garden/Chinese Academy of Sciences. The project will be accomplished in collaboration with the Department of Physics, & Department of Forest Sciences of the University of Helsinki, Finland and South China Botanical Garden (SCBG) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China.


Syed Ashraful Alam, Frank Berninger, Teemu Hölttä, Timo Vesala, Jianguo Huang

  • Head of research Jyrki Luukkanen
  • Language n/a

CHEC project concentrated on the very topical issue of climate change and its evident impacts on the economic structures especially in the context of China and the European Union. The objective of the research was to analyse the impacts of climate change on the global economic structures and financing mechanism from the point of view of China and EU. The spill over effects of these changes are relevant for assessing the accumulated impacts of climate change. These were profoundly analysed in the CHEC project. The project relied on the following hypotheses; (i) climate change will have an impact on the global economic structures and financing mechanisms; (ii) the impacts depend on the mitigation and adaptation policies worldwide; (iii) climate change impacts in China and EU have impacts on the global economic structures and mechanisms, and vice versa; (iv) these can be studied using global system models; (v) better understanding of emission trends, driving forces and policies in both regions help to build cooperation and put forward international climate processes.


Jyrki Luukkanen (FFRC), Jarmo Vehmas (FFRC), Jari Kaivo-Oja (FFRC), Burkhard Auffermann (FFRC), Barry Hughes (Univ. of Denver), Outi Luova (Univ. of Turku), Juha Panula-Ontto (FFRC), Pertti Suomela (FFRC), Chen Ying (CASS), Wang Mou (CASS), Liao Maolin (CASS), Zhang Ying (CASS), Xiong Jianbin (CASS)